It was a perfect lazy Saturday morning. I could have stayed in bed all morning, but I was up at my usual time: 7:00 am. As soon as Mr. Hoagie (my husband) showed his first signs of waking up, I was at him.

“I gotta get to the gym this morning. I’ve had it. Something has to change. Everything else in my life is working, but NOT working out is NOT working for me. I HAVE to figure out how to get to the gym regularly. I gave myself a grace period after starting this new job, but it’s been a month. I’ve screwed around long enough. It’s time to get SERIOUS.”

You get the point.

Being married to an engineer, the next hour’s discussion centered on a detailed breakdown of a cost-benefit analysis of working out versus doing everything else that needs to get done.

After hashing out daily and weekly schedules, we came to the conclusion that if we go to bed at 10:00 pm (or earlier) daily, we can get up and work out each morning; I at 5:00 am, he at 6:00 am. That is, assuming that either he doesn’t leave the house (so as not to leave our sleeping children unattended) or that I return from the gym early enough that he can squeeze in a 6:00 am run.

So my goal today was to get to the gym this morning in time for the 10:30 am Zumba class. I liked it! A twist on a standard aerobics class in that the music had a (HOT!) salsa beat. A couple of songs even had a Bollywood feel. Not too tough, and it was easy to ramp the choreography up or down to match different ability levels. I definitely got a great workout!

And as if to pat me on the back for making a good decision, God sent me an achingly beautiful, sunny, clear day. The kind that makes you feel blessed to be alive. After my Zumba workout, I stopped for an iced coffee to take to my 5-year-old’s soccer game. It was a great day.

I’m thinking of trying to Zumba every Saturday morning, and possibly on Tuesday evenings whenever possible. They also have a Monday evening yoga class I’d like to try. During the week, the goal is to get to the gym every morning between 5:00 and 6:30 am to get some weightlifting and cardio in.

You know what they say: shoot for the moon, and even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.

Or something like that.

Hey…even if I only get there half the time, that’s still a vast improvement over my current status.

Gotta go. Need to be up early tomorrow. We’re walking a 5K at the zoo. With both kids (5 & 8). It’ll either be great, or I’ll wonder whoever came up with this idea. (Ummmmm…me.)

Oh well. At least we’ll get tee shirts!

