This past year I was introduced to the Mitford books. I love the fictitious small town that author Jan Karon has set in the mountains of North Carolina. I love the people in the town. I want to live in Mitford.

The main character is a wonderful older pastor named Fr. Tim Kavanaugh. He has a wonderful offering of Bible verses and pithy advice for nearly every situation. When he is stuck, he prays “the prayer that never fails”.

Thy will be done.

It’s so simple, and yet so wonderful. And he’s right. It NEVER fails.

I started out with such great plans. Consistent exercise, posting, accountability. The best laid plans and all that. And I was doing pretty well, all things considered. I even discovered that my treadmill wasn’t the evil torturous device I once thought it was.

And then God laughed at my plans.

And reminded me in a small (or not so small) way that HIS will would be done.

Last week, my weight loss plans were put on hold.

For about the next seven-and-a-half months.

When He laughs, He laughs raucously. Joyfully. Reassuringly.

Oh dear Lord.

Thy will (not mine) be done.

I’ll continue to keep y’all posted on how that’s working out.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” (Phil. 4:13)

