Well, it’s been 3 weeks since I quit my part-time church office job. In that time, I’ve prioritized workouts and cooking healthy meals for my family.

Successes!

  • I’ve averaged at least four workouts a week (long dog walks, elliptical, videos, Wii at home; elliptical and weights at gym). I’m even at the point where I feel LOST if I don’t work out. Yay me!
  • I’ve gotten to the grocery store regularly, and have been pushing fruits and veggies (I made a veggie tray! And my kids fight over ORANGES!) I’m also working on feeding my family more natural, organic REAL foods.
  • I’ve been trying to combat the nagging feeling in my head that I’m not doing ENOUGH. (I should work out longer! Lift harder!) I know from experience that if I push myself too much, I’ll end up hating my workouts and I’ll look for excuses to quit. This needs to be SUSTAINABLE!
  • I’ve roped in my kids. Little Sis walks the dog with me some days after lunch, and she is a hula-hooping FIEND! As I type, she’s out on the driveway hula-hooping, and has been for over half-an hour! I kicked the kids outside to play after school.
  • Little Sis cranks her iPod and hula hoops.

Messes…

  • I still haven’t managed to track my food. I have a sullen, angry 13-year-old living inside me, who screams, “You can’t MAKE me!” every time I seriously consider it. Need to work on her. I KNOW that I lose when I track my food. Both Weight Watchers (if you’re a paid member) and SparkPeople (free membership! Go now!) have great places to track.
  • Meal planning is rough for me. I keep meaning to come up with index cards that list meals that I like, complete with sides and nutrition info, but I just haven’t made the time to do it yet. In my defense, our Christmas tree is still up. For real. And it’s MARCH!

Over all, it’s been a good couple of weeks. I have some challenges coming up; I know I’ll need to miss my morning workouts on Monday and Tuesday. But I’m starting to think that there’s hope.

Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD. -Psalm 31:23-24

