So as I mentioned earlier, I’ve been walking lately. I’m proud to say that I’m on my third week of walking my dog for an hour every weekday morning after I put the kids on the school bus.

I’ve been taking my iPod along. I have a lot of great music on there, but lately I’ve been gravitating toward podcasts. Here are a few of my favorites…and they’re all FREE through iTunes!

My Thought Coach: These are like guided meditations with affirmations. It’s been really great to start my walk and my day with a big dose of positive energy. It really helps combat some of the negative thoughts I’ve been struggling with. A favorite is “Think Like A Clean and Organized Person,” which really helped change the way I feel about housework. Well, a little, anyway!

Meditation Station is put on by the same person who records My Thought Coach. My Thought Coach has 12 episodes; Meditation Station has 10. Stin also has a website where you can subscribe and download her recordings as mp3s. There are also a number of free recordings available.

Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing: These are short podcasts (under 10 minutes) that each highlight a grammar or punctuation rule. Short, sweet, and oddly fascinating. It makes me feel like I’m “working,” since I signed up to attempt NaNoWriMo this November. Plus, it’s way more fun than English class!

Joel Osteen Audio Podcast and Joyce Meyer Radio Podcast: These are a nice way to sneak some good preaching into my walks. Joel’s podcasts are about half an hour, and Joyce’s last about 15 minutes.

mikeroweWORKS: There’s only about 4 episodes of this podcast available, but they’re good. They’re put on by Mike Rowe, who does Dirty Jobs. His voice is AMAZING; I’d listen to that guy read the phone book.  My favorite episode of his is “Mike Rowe’s Father’s Day Memories.”

And I’ve saved my favorite for last: Two Fit Chicks and a Microphone. Shauna and Carla chat about various healthy living topics, usually with a guest. One of my favorite parts is Blogger News (which as they’ve acknowledged is a misnomer, because they accept news from anyone, blogger or not), where they give shoutouts to anyone who has good news to share about reaching their healthy goals. As I mentioned to them one day on Twitter, it’s like having two angels on my shoulder while I walk. Here’s how much I love the podcast: There has been a new episode out for a week, but I haven’t listened to it yet because I’m SAVING it. It’s a delayed gratification thing. 🙂

I know there are a LOT more podcasts out there. Which are your favorites?

This post is linked to Works for Me Wednesday, hosted by We Are THAT Family.

