So…here we go again. Another Monday, another week.

Last night, I was surfing the web on my iPod Touch, and came across this article about how to stop diabetes before it starts. As I may have mentioned, my favorite aunt died of complications from diabetes in her late 50s. My mom is a diabetic and in kidney failure. I am over 100 pounds overweight, and probably at great risk for diabetes.

As I read through the article, it came to me that there were a couple of suggestions there that I could easily follow, and in fact, HAD followed in the past. It suggested that I “Focus on fiber,” “Count on coffee,” and “Get moving.” So I got up out of bed and went downstairs. I put steel cut oatmeal in the crock pot and set the coffeemaker to brew at 7:00 am.

My very favorite healthy breakfast

It worked. I had a healthy breakfast of steel cut oatmeal topped with maple syrup, walnuts and wild blueberries and a cup of coffee with french vanilla creamer by 8:00 am. Then I took the kids to the bus stop and embarked on an hour-long dog walk while listening to one of my favorite podcasts.

And the best part was that it was PAINLESS. I love oatmeal. I love coffee. I love walking my dog, especially on cool fall mornings, when the leaves flash brilliant orange, golden yellow and scarlet red.

“You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.” —Hebrews 10:36

